Roasted Kohlrabi

kohlrabi

What in the hell is kohlrabi?

So here’s the honest truth. This isn’t the usual kind of recipe for me.

Usually, I am playing in the kitchen and I make something good and decide to write the recipe down (in a convenient blog format) for referencing later. But not this recipe. This recipe came from a place of shame and a new realization that I was talking the talk and not walking the walk. Ugh. That feeling is as icky as using your bare hand to clean out peanut butter stuck inside a jar that’s been soaking in the sink for 2 days.

You see, I was doing some design and strategy for this this Eat Local First campaign to encourage people in Colorado to eat local, in-season foods, when I realized that I, too, was a little weak in my vegetable identification. Kohlrabi…? parsnip? turnip? rutabaga? uhhhh…. Annnnnd I’ve had a vegetarian diet for 4 years now. Sigh.

So in addition to immediately creating and launching my own Veggie Memory Game as a learning tool for families (but mostly myself) I facilitated this Mystery Foods page to help other people get over some of those embarassing I’m-at-the-market-and-have-no-idea-what-that-food-is-or-how-to-prepare-it moments. OR in my own case, an I’m-working-on-a-campaign-but-haven’t-learned-the-things-I’m-trying-to-convince-others-to-learn moment.

This is a redemption recipe.

Prep Time: 45 min
Cook Time: 20 min

What You Need

  • 1 bulb large kohlrabi
  • 1 sprig fresh thyme
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp EVOO

What You Do

  1. Preheat the oven to 450F.
  2. Mince your garlic. Pick the leaves off the herbs. Throw them in a bowl with the salt and olive oil. Mix.
  3. Get to peeling that kohlrabi. Depending on your peeler, this could be hard work. You will be earning this dish, as well you should if you’re also trying to redeem yourself.
  4. Once peeled, cut the kohlrabi into 1/2 inch cubes. Toss them into the olive oil mixture to coat.
  5. Spread kohlrabi in a single layer on a baking sheet or dish.
  6. Bake until browned, 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  7. Once they’re evenly browned and nicely poke-able with a fork, they’re done.
  8. Serve as a side to one of your favorite fall or winter meals.
Leave a Reply

