1860s Eggs Stuffed With Mushrooms

stuffedeggs01

This recipe was adapted from The Golden Age Cook Book, by Henrietta Latham Dwight (1898)

I’m going to be honest with you guys. I’m a vegetarian who is on the fence about eggs. Which is to say, I prefer my eggs to be more or less secret ingredients and not the main ingredient to most things. Plain scrambled eggs? Blegh. So when I saw this recipe for stuffed eggs, my first reaction was: NOPE. And then I figured I’d give it a try. Possibly because I always like to push my food comfort zone or possibly because I have a cold right now and I’m craving totally weird foods, but I decided to do this recipe anyway. And guess what. It was REALLY GOOD. So without further adieu, my adaptation of Henrietta Latham Dwight’s Stuffed Eggs from 1898.

1800s Recipes Series

See all recipes in the series

In celebration of the release of my novel, Moonshine Bloodline, I decided to do a short series of recipes from the 1820 – 1920s, the period in which the story takes place. For the month of April, I’ll release 1 new recipe per week.

I’d really love to boost the number of book reviews on Amazon, so if any of you would like to write a review, I’ll be glad to send you a free copy. Just drop me a line here.

Stats

  • Time: < 1 hour
  • Serves: 2

What You Need

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 oz mushrooms, finely chopped
  • 1/2 oz onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 oz celery, finely chopped
  • 4 almonds, finely chopped
  • 1 TSP almond or coconut milk <– if needed
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • parsley for garnish

What You Do

  1. Start hard boiling your eggs. Need help? Here’s how.
  2. In the mean time, chop your mushrooms, onion, and almonds and sautee them in a little EVOO.
  3. When the eggs are boiled hard, take them out of the hot water and run them under cold water.
  4. Peel off the shells and then cut in half lengthwise.
  5. Carefully remove the yolks and set aside in a small mixing bowl. Set the whites aside on a plate. Try to keep the whites in tact. You’ll be refilling them again.
  6. Mash the yolks and add in the onion, mushroom, celery, and almond mixture. Add salt & pepper to taste. If your yolks are crumbly (as mine were), add in a wee bit of almond milk and stir it in. You want this to be like a creamy paste, not crumbly, or it won’t stay put when you stuff the eggs.
  7. If the mixture is too dry, add in a teaspoon of milk and mix thoroughly.
  8. Stuff the egg whites with the mixture, making a heaping yolk-size mound on each one.
  9. Now the next step is to brown them quickly in the oven with some bread crumbs sprinkled on top. But right now, my apartment in Colombia doesn’t have an oven, so I just skipped straight to the EATING part. For those of you that do have an oven, on to step 10.
  10. Sprinkle with some bread crumbs and brown in the oven for a few minutes.
  11. Garnish with parsley and serve.
Boil the eggs while you prep your stuffing.

Boil the eggs while you prep your stuffing.

Sautee your vegetables as your eggs cool enough to handle them.

Sautee your vegetables as your eggs cool enough to handle them.

Peel the eggs, cut them in half, and carefully remove the yolks.

Peel the eggs, cut them in half, and carefully remove the yolks.

Mix the sauteed veg and yolks together with salt & pepper (milk if needed), and divide into 6 parts.

Mix the sauteed veg and yolks together with salt & pepper (milk if needed), and divide into 6 parts.

Stuff that beautiful yolk mix back into the whites, and brown in the oven or serve.

Stuff that beautiful yolk mix back into the whites, and brown in the oven or serve.

Leave a Reply

