1920’s Vegan Cucumber Soup

cucumbersoup00

This recipe was adapted from Mrs. Wilson’s Cook Book (1920)

It’s hard to imagine that a cucumber soup wouldn’t be vegan but nature, but in a time when drippings were more readily available to most people than EVOO, it makes sense. So I bring to you, an en ever-so-slightly adapted version of this 1920’s favorite: Cucumber Soup. A couple of other things… the original recipe said to grate the ingredients, but I don’t have a grater at the moment, so I used my mad knife skills and chopped the dickens out of everything. The original recipe also said to mash the soup through a strainer, but I chose to blend it instead. Oddly enough, I have a blender but not a strainer at the moment.1

1800s Recipes Series

See all recipes in the series

In celebration of the release of my novel, Moonshine Bloodline, I decided to do a short series of recipes from the 1820 – 1920s, the period in which the story takes place. For the month of April, I’ll release 1 new recipe per week.

I’d really love to boost the number of book reviews on Amazon, so if any of you would like to write a review, I’ll be glad to send you a free copy. Just drop me a line here.

Stats

  • Time: < 1 hour
  • Serves: 6

What You Need

  • 2 medium cucumbers, grated (or very finely chopped)
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1/2 white onion, grated
  • 4 cups almond or coconut milk
  • 2 tbs flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 tbs of EVOO

What You Do

    1. Grate the cucumber and onion and toss them in the soup pot.
    2. Add the water (1 cup).
    3. Bring to a boil, then simmer for ten minutes.
    4. Run this through your blender, food processor, or mash it through a sieve.
    5. Return to the pot and add the milk (4 cups).
    6. Slowly sprinkle in the flour, stirring to avoid lumps.
    7. Bring back to a boil, then simmer again for 5 minutes.
    8. Now add salt, paprika, green pepper, and EVOO.
    9. Stir vigorously to mix, then serve hot.
I chose to peel my cucumbers because I wanted this soup to be smooth.

I chose to peel my cucumbers because I wanted this soup to be smooth.

Sauteeing the onion and bell pepper for a little bit before tossing the cucumber in.

Sauteeing the onion and bell pepper for a little bit before tossing the cucumber in.

Blending the soup after it as cooked a little bit.

Blending the soup after it as cooked a little bit.

Simmering the blended soup on low.

Simmering the blended soup on low.

Garnish with paprika and a little fresh parsley

Garnish with paprika and a little fresh parsley


[1] What’s all of this “at the moment business? Why does my kitchen inventory change all the frigging time? Well, my husband and I are traveling and every apartment we live in has a lightly different set of kitchen tools. See where in the heck we’ve been.

Leave a Reply

