1892 Vegetarian Tomato and Egg on Toast

Toast with Egg and Tomato

Toast with Egg and Tomato

This recipe was adapted from New Vegetarian Dishes, by Mrs. Bowdich (1892).

This recipe is a nice change from a typical eggs & toast breakfast, and quite frankly could set the stage for an impressive brunch. The recipe recommends using toast, and I imagine the toast Mrs. Bowdich had on hand was an amazing, hearty, artisan bread — you know, the stuff that was probably just called “bread” in 1892. I toasted some rolls on our old fashioned stove-top toaster. They were just alright. The next time I make this, I plan to use either a hearty black rye or some English muffins. And you, I’m thinking… I’m not sure where Mrs. Bowdich was from, but she probably didn’t see a lot of avocados. Otherwise, I’m sure she’d have slapped a couple of slices in there between the sauce and the eggs.

1800s Recipes Series

See all recipes in the series

In celebration of the release of my novel, Moonshine Bloodline, I decided to do a short series of recipes from the 1820 – 1920s, the period in which the story takes place. For the month of April, I’ll release 1 new recipe per week.

I’d really love to boost the number of book reviews on Amazon, so if any of you would like to write a review, I’ll be glad to send you a free copy. Just drop me a line here.

Stats

  • Serves: 2
  • Time: About 30 minutes or prep and cook time

What You Need

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 large ripe tomatoes
  • 1 fresh button mushroom
  • 1 shalot (or small onion, I used onion because that’s what I could find)
  • 1/2 tsp flour
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 slices of toast (or rolls cut in 2, in my case. An English muffin would be delish!)
  • EVOO
  • fresh cilantro to garnish

What You Do

  1. Finely chop the tomato, mushroom, and shalot.
  2. Sautee the mushroom and shallot in a little oil, then add in the tomato, salt, and pepper.
  3. Cover, set to low, stir regularly.
  4. In the mean time, get your toast going.
  5. When the tomato stew is nicely cooked down, slowly sprinkle in the flour to thicken, stirring constantly.
  6. Put the cover back on and turn off the heat.
  7. When the toast is done, start the eggs. I put two eggs in the same pan and broke the yolks so that the egg cooked evenly in one sheet.
  8. When the eggs are done, assemble the plate: toast (or in my case, 2 toasted rolls) on bottom, then egg, then top with tomato sauce.
  9. Garnish with fresh cilantro and serve immediately.
Chop your tomato, onion, and mushrooms

Chop your tomato, onion, and mushrooms

Toasting buns, frying eggs, and sauteeing veg.

Toasting buns, frying eggs, and sauteeing veg.

Place the eggs on the toasted buns, then over with sauce and garnish with cilantro

Place the eggs on the toasted buns, then over with sauce and garnish with cilantro

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

One thought on “1892 Vegetarian Tomato and Egg on Toast

Leave a Reply

