What’s On Your Docket for Vegetarian Thanksgiving?

There are things I miss in life. For example, I miss floating in an inner tube down the warm Youghiogheny River in the summer. I miss being able to drink beer. I miss the $600 rent in Panama. I even miss playing my old cello from time to time. But despite the line of questions I field each year from my carnivorous friends, I don’t miss a dried out old turkey on Thanksgiving or any of the iterations of turkey leftovers that follow. I mean, come on, we all know that a tupperware container full of leftover turkey kind of smells like farts. Let’s stop kidding ourselves.

After kicking that bird to the curb in 2009, I’ve gotten to focus on the rest of the dishes on the table that are actually good. And that’s why I’m sharing with you some of my favorite dishes to make on Turkey Day Thanksgiving.

Some of these recipes are mine and others are not, but I hope you enjoy them as much as I do. Recipes I have not listed below include last year’s failures: the vegan pumpkin pie that turned out to be a slushy mess (which is a bummer because I had promised it specifically to my grandma who’s allergic to most other Thanksgiving delights) and the corn bread stuffing that transformed itself into a large gray brick in my oven. And it was going to be so good. Sigh. So I’ve spared you that heartache. You’re welcome. I have also not included the roasted chestnut stuffing recipe that I was making with a friend while my car was being stolen from outside of her house. It wasn’t the recipe’s fault. I know this. But why take chances?

So please, share your favorite Thanksgiving story, tradition, or vegetarian & vegan recipes! And if you’re in New Orleans, come over to my house and share your cornbread with me too…

Without further ado, my favorite Thanksgiving dishes:


Roasted Lemon Parmesan Brussels Sprouts

by CookingLight


Warm Italian Sausage Potato Arugula Salad
by MorningStar Farms


Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes
by Rachael Ray (and modified with soyrizo)

acornsquash
Savory Acorn Squash & Red Beans

potatoleek
Potato Leek Soup


Corn Chowder
by i Eat Green

Leave a Reply

